Moruya Heritage Area


Moruya is famous for its granite, first quarried in 1850. Moruya granite was used in the pylons for the Sydney Harbour Bridge. From 1925 to 1932, Dorman, Long and Company employed over 250 stonemasons from 13 different countries to supply, cut and dress granite slabs for the pylons.

A flood in 1840 scoured the sandbar and opened up the Moruya River to shipping. The government then abandoned Broulee in favour of Moruya, gazetted as a village in 1851.

The first wharves were near the entrance. The river’s deep channels changed frequently and vessels often grounded so a pilot was stationed at Moruya South Head from 1860.

Moruya was an important port for the Araluen goldfields and for the district’s producers. Moruya also developed into an important regional and administrative centre.

What to do:
Visit Moruya Museum in Emmott House and see the State Heritage listed Abernethy and Co stonemason’s lathe.
Follow the Historic Town Walk to discover Moruya’s delightful historic buildings.

Drive to Moruya Heads (Toragy Point). The Pilot Station (1861-1953), now private residence, is nearby.
Walk the stunning Bingi Dreaming Track from Congo to Coila Lake. The track links camp and ceremonial sites, water and food sources.